Celebrating a Word

I wrote a blog the other day celebrating a word, but the more I think about it – IT’S SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT.

He didn’t say a word, he said one with intention.

I held an apple and said, “What is this?”

Lennon replied, “Apple.”

On the absolute surface that is just a word, but in the context of Lennon and his challenges, it’s beyond bigger.

I could ask Lennon to sit. Nothing. He wouldn’t sit.

I could ask Lennon to show me his soccer ball. Nothing. He might not know what I’m talking about.

I could ask Lennon, “Where is mommy?” Nothing. He wouldn’t even point to me.

Other than the incredibly repetitive tasks he does in ABA his comprehension seems to be exactly where it was months ago.

But … If I hold out an apple. He KNOWS it’s an apple. He knows a red apple is an apple AND he knows a green apple is an apple.

And this my friends, is so much more than a word.

Leave a comment